(Nerd) Lunch Special: Wendy’s Fry vs. Fry

Over on the Twitter, I was able to respond quick enough to a request by the Wendy’s Twitter account to send them a direct message for a chance to try their new product. It was a cool social marketing tactic to get some early word going about their new french fries. Sadly, the Tallahassee, FL-area Wendy’s did not offer the fries as early as I was led to believe. That’s okay. It’s all worked out.

The deal was that I received two $5 gift cards to sample Wendy’s then current fries and then return and sample Wendy’s new fries. Cool. Except for one thing…I liked Wendy’s fries just the way they were. In fact, when it comes to mainstream fast food/quick service places that can be found across the country, I struggle to think of anything that beats Wendy’s in the fry department. In fact, with the exception of places like hole-in-the-wall Niro’s Gyros in Champaign, IL, Wendy’s fries are the best.

So, why change something that’s not broke? Why couldn’t this be Burger King changing their fries again, this time to something palatable? Or Arby’s bringing back their non-curled fries? Why did it have to be Wendy’s? So, upon eating the “classic” fries for the last time, I found my self a bit sad. They were fortunately, a good batch of fries. Farewell, old friends. You served fast food fans like me well.

So, finally, a trip to Wendy’s today reveals signage showing that the new “Natural Cut Fries with Sea Salt” have arrived.

To anyone worried about missing the original fries, let me put your mind at ease. The classic Wendy’s fries are the new fries’ daddy. The Wendy’s taste is not gone, but only accentuated with a more potatoey (not a word so I didn’t misspell it) flavor. Plus, I don’t get what makes sea salt better than land salt, but that gave it a nice hint of extra flavor, too.

So, Fry vs. Fry, which would I choose? I’d choose the new “Natural Cut Fries.” Well done, Wendy’s. You managed to make a great thing even better.

7 thoughts on “(Nerd) Lunch Special: Wendy’s Fry vs. Fry

  1. I finally samples some of these fries last weekend. I concur, they are tasty.For the record, Big Dan, I would classify Culver's as a regional chain. CT will back me up on that until there's a franchise in northwest Florida. And I agree with you, Culver's fries are very good and consistently so.

  2. This is good news. Since the death of Arby's homestyle fries, Wendy's has been the only national chain that I could count on for good fries.

Leave a comment