The Phantom: The Ghost Who Sucks


Here’s concept art for the new SyFy pilot based on the Phantom. Now I grant you, it doesn’t make a lot of sense to run around the jungle in a dark purple leotard with your underwear on the outside . . . but this here is not working for me. Maybe add a domino mask and some high boots?

And hopefully the lead actor will not show up to work with little stick arms as depicted in the concept art. Your friend Billy Zane hit the gym in an era when most guys were relying on the Michael Keaton bodysuit to play superheroes.

But cast Bruce Campbell as the retiring Phantom Sr. and all will be forgiven (though at this stage of his physical collapse, I hope they don’t put Bruce in the leotard).

2 thoughts on “The Phantom: The Ghost Who Sucks

  1. That outfit is a couple accessories away from Nightman quality.I'm with you, CT. People act like the 1996 version of The Phantom was on par with Catwoman or Batman & Robin. I don't think it was great, but it definitely doesn't deserve the beating it takes. And let's face it, Billy Zane rules.

  2. Well, Flash Gordon was such a high-quality success for them that I have no doubt that this show will be just as critically acclaimed.I know you and I don't see completely eye-to-eye on Sky Captain, PLee, but they should just get the production designer and director of that movie to put together Flash Gordon, Phantom, The Shadow and Doc Savage movies. Don't Smallvillize it.That Billy Zane version of The Phantom gets more grief than it deserves. I thought it was well done and might have made my top ten super hero list before getting knocked off by a few that have come out in the last two or three years.

Leave a comment